Collaborative Freeze

 

Collaborative Freeze is a function associated to a given Rack that allows several project members to work on a same project even if they don't use the same Plugins.

If a project member has all the Plugins contained in a Rack, he/she can "bounce" the Rack to audio, while other project members can enable this bounce if necessary (e.g. if they don't have one of the Plugins used in that Rack).

Similarly to the way Audio Patterns are automatically shared among project members, the upload/download of a Rack's "bounce" is automatic. This means that:

  • when a member bounces a Rack, the resulting audio file is automatically uploaded to the Ohm Studio server.
  • when a member re-bounces that Rack, the resulting audio file overwrites the previously uploaded one.
  • when a member enables the bounce for that Rack, the most recent one is automatically downloaded from the Ohm Studio server.

 

The Collaborative Freeze function consists in 2 buttons visible in a Rack Header:

  • Bounce    (snowflake icon)
  • Update Bounce    (sync icon)

 

 

 

Bounce

 

Click on the snowflake icon to get your Rack to collab freeze mode. If there is no collab frozen audio bounced yet it will produce one and automatically upload the resulting audio file on the Ohm Studio Server. If there is one, you'll hear it. If you join a project with such audio bounced this mode will be automatically activated. If it's created by someone else while you're in the project you'll have to toggle it manually.

When a Rack's bounce is enabled , the waveform of the corresponding audio file appears on the Sequence, meaning that all the Plugins contained in that Rack (except the Rack's Volume Plugin) are temporarily replaced by 1 Audio Track Plugin.
This Audio Track Plugin is used to playback the Rack's bounce, but unlike ordinary Audio Patterns, the bounce cannot be edited (i.e. moved, split, looped...).

 

 

Similarly to freeze functions available in other DAWs, enabling a Rack's bounce will usually reduce CPU load because all the Plugins contained in that Rack (except the Rack's Volume Plugin) are automatically disabled.

Click this button again if you want to switch back to normal version of the track.

 

See How to export audio to learn how to bounce a Rack to an audio file on your disk.

 

Update Bounce

 

This button appears as soon as there is as a first bounced version hase been created (i.e. with the snowflake). It allows to update that bounce to match the current edit version.

 

Additional Information

 

When you bounce a Rack, its outgoing audio signal is "recorded" just before it reaches the Rack's Volume Plugin. This means that you can edit the Rack's volume and pan parameters in the Mixer View even if the Rack's bounce is enabled.

 

To avoid user errors, a confirmation dialog box appears if a project member clicks on the Bounce button but does not have all the Plugins contained in a Rack. You can use  / ctrl + Click  to "force" the bounce and bypass the dialog box.

_____

Go back to Glossary index.

Go back to Help menu.